École OMBRIENNE circa 1380 The Virgin and...

Lot 1
Aller au lot
Estimation :
12000 - 15000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 20 480EUR

École OMBRIENNE circa 1380 The Virgin and...

École OMBRIENNE circa 1380
The Virgin and Child, between Saint Peter and Saint Catherine on a golden background
(Reverse of painted panels).
Three panels forming a triptych.
Ancient restorations.
42 x 24 cm

On the gold background engraved with acanthus motifs of the central panel of this triptych intended for intimate devotion, the Virgin holding the blessing Child sits on a cushion resting on an architectural seat without a backrest. The shutters hold the full-length images of Saint Peter on the left and Saint Catherine on the right, identified by their respective attributes: the keys for Peter and the wheel of torment for Catherine. The central image is presented under a three-lobed arcade in relief, resting on each side on a partly deteriorated column. This partition delimits in the pinnacle the place of a medallion that was originally intended to hold an image of Christ blessing, which has now disappeared.

Another medallion, where Christ was probably to appear at the tomb, also disappeared, adorns the base in the centre of a gilded cartouche worked in relief.
In spite of the insults of time, the work has kept all its original elements. Its general structure and the fine "a pastiglia" technique of the mouldings are reminiscent of the gilded delicacy of small Sienese devotional paintings such as those by Luca di Tommé around 1360 (Los Angeles, County Museum no. 57.68 or Corsi Collection cf. L'Art gothique siennois, Avignon, June-October 1983, no. 91, repr). The Siennese influence is also felt in the undulating line of the mantle of St. Peter as well as in the elegant posture of St. Catherine.
But the gold background engraved with acanthus betrays an Umbrian origin. The execution of our still anonymous triptych is placed in this atmosphere, probably in Orvieto, where the great master Ugolino di Prete Ilario (known from 1357 to 1384), author of frescoes in the Duomo, and his pupil Cola Petruccioli (documented from 1372 to 1401) were particularly well known.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

École OMBRIENNE vers 1380 La Vierge à l’Enfant,...

Lot 1
Aller au lot
Estimation :
12000 - 15000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 20 480EUR

École OMBRIENNE vers 1380 La Vierge à l’Enfant,...

École OMBRIENNE vers 1380
La Vierge à l’Enfant, entre saint Pierre et sainte Catherine sur fond d’or
(Revers de panneaux peints).
Trois panneaux formant triptyque.
Restaurations anciennes.
42 x 24 cm

Sur le fond d’or gravé de motifs d’acanthe du panneau central de ce triptyque destiné à la dévotion intime, la Vierge tenant l’Enfant bénissant est assise sur un coussin reposant sur un siège architecturé dépourvu de dossier. Les volets accueillent les images en pied de saint Pierre à gauche et de sainte Catherine à droite, identifiés grâce à leur attribut respectif : les clés pour Pierre et la roue du supplice pour Catherine. L’image centrale, est présentée sous une arcade trilobée en relief reposant de chaque côté sur une colonnette en partie détériorée. Cette partition délimite dans le pinacle la place d’un médaillon qui devait accueillir à l’origine une image du Christ bénissant aujourd’hui disparue.

Un autre médaillon où devait apparaître sans doute un Christ au tombeau, également disparu, orne le socle au centre d’un cartouche doré travaillé en relief.
Malgré les injures du temps, l’œuvre a gardé tous ses éléments d’origine. Sa structure générale et la fine technique « a pastiglia » des moulures rappellent la délicatesse orfévrée des petits tableaux de dévotion siennois tels ceux de Luca di Tommé vers 1360 (Los Angeles, County Museum n° 57.68 ou collection Corsi cf. l’Art gothique siennois, Avignon, Juin-octobre 1983, n° 91, repr). L’influence siennoise se fait aussi sentir dans la ligne ondulante du manteau de saint Pierre ainsi que dans l’élégante posture de la sainte Catherine.
Mais le fond d’or gravé d’acanthe trahit une origine ombrienne. On replacera l’exécution de notre triptyque encore anonyme dans cette ambiance, sans doute à Orvieto, où le grand maître que fut Ugolino di Prete Ilario (connu de 1357 à 1384) auteur de fresques dans le Dôme et son élève Cola Petruccioli (documenté de 1372 à 1401) furent particulièrement s
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue