Luca GIORDANO (Naples, 1632 - 1705) Cain...

Lot 12
Aller au lot
Estimation :
40000 - 60000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 192 000EUR

Luca GIORDANO (Naples, 1632 - 1705) Cain...

Luca GIORDANO (Naples, 1632 - 1705)
Cain and Abel
Web.
Signed lower right: JORDANUS/F.
Ancient restorations.
194 x 145 cm

We propose to date this painting to the 1660s, when Luca Giordano incorporated more baroque elements, taken from Pierre de Cortone (e.g. the angel in the upper left corner) into the Riberesque naturalism present in his earlier works. The composition, all in movement, exacerbates the magnitude of the drama at play (Genesis 4. 1-15). The donkey's jaw which Cain used to knock Abel out is highlighted by its central position, reminiscent of an iconography initiated by Filippo Vitale (private collection).

During his stays in Venice, the first of which took place around 1653, Luca Giordano saw Titian's painting on the same theme, preserved on the ceiling of the sacristy of the Basilica of Santa Maria della Salute, where Abel is violently thrown to the floor. Here, his lifeless body, in a diagonal line, brings the viewer into the composition and recalls the foreground of "Saint January interceding for the cessation of the plague of 1656", painted in 1660 (Naples, Capodimonte Museum) 1, a sort of meditation on the tragic aspect of the human condition.

Another version of this subject, of different composition and length, is currently in the art trade 2.

A painting on this subject is quoted in the inventory of Alessandro Savorgnan done on August 7, 1699: "Abele morto con un angelo, h 13 quarte, ca., di Luca Giordano" 3. The height of 13 quarte, about 208 cm, could correspond to the height of our painting with its original frame. The authors have often noted that some of Giordano's paintings anticipated nineteenth-century French realist painting, comparing Le bon Samaritain (Rouen, Musée des beaux-arts) with that of Théodule Ribot (Paris, Musée d'Orsay). Our composition, for its part, seems to foreshadow Justice and Divine Vengeance pursuing the Crime of
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

Luca GIORDANO (Naples, 1632 - 1705) Caïn...

Lot 12
Aller au lot
Estimation :
40000 - 60000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 192 000EUR

Luca GIORDANO (Naples, 1632 - 1705) Caïn...

Luca GIORDANO (Naples, 1632 - 1705)
Caïn et Abel
Toile.
Signée en bas à droite : JORDANUS/F.
Restaurations anciennes.
194 x 145 cm

Nous proposons de dater ce tableau de la décennie 1660, au moment où Luca Giordano incorpore au naturalisme riberesque présent dans ses œuvres antérieures des éléments plus baroques, tirés de Pierre de Cortone (par exemple l’ange en haut à gauche). La composition, tout en mouvement, exacerbe l’ampleur du drame qui se joue (Genèse 4. 1-15). La mâchoire d’âne dont Caïn s’est servi pour assommer Abel est mise en valeur par sa position centrale, rappel d’une iconographie initiée par Filippo Vitale (collection particulière).

Au cours de ses séjours à Venise, dont le premier s’est déroulé vers 1653, Luca Giordano a vu le tableau de Titien sur le même thème, conservé au plafond de la sacristie de la basilique Santa Maria della Salute, où Abel est projeté au sol avec violence. Ici, son corps sans vie, en diagonale, fait entrer le spectateur dans la composition et rappelle le premier plan du « Saint Janvier intercédant pour la cessation de la peste de 1656 », peint en 1660 (Naples, Musée de Capodimonte) 1, sorte de méditation sur l’aspect tragique de condition humaine.

Signalons une autre version de ce sujet, de composition différente et en longueur actuellement dans le commerce d’art 2.

Un tableau sur ce sujet est cité dans l’inventaire d’Alessandro Savorgnan réalisé le 7 août 1699 : « Abele morto con un angelo, h 13 quarte, ca., di Luca Giordano » 3. La hauteur de 13 quarte, soit environ 208 cm, pourrait correspondre à celle de notre tableau avec son cadre d’origine. Les auteurs ont souvent noté que certaines toiles de Giordano anticipaient la peinture réaliste du XIXe siècle français, comparant Le bon Samaritain (Rouen, Musée des beaux-arts) avec celui de Théodule Ribot (Paris, Musée d’Orsay). Notre composition, quant à elle, semble pressentir La Justice et la Vengeance divine poursuivant le Crime de
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue