BRITTEN Benjamin (1913-1976). ENGRAVED PROOFS...

Lot 1112
Aller au lot
Estimation :
8000 - 10000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 9 100EUR

BRITTEN Benjamin (1913-1976). ENGRAVED PROOFS...

BRITTEN Benjamin (1913-1976).
ENGRAVED PROOFS with autograph CORRECTIONS, The Rape of Lucretia (1946); 225 large in-4 leaves (about 30.5 x 25 cm) engraved on one side only, in sheets (some tears at the edges, especially on the outer ff., with partial loss of
the last page).

Complete proofs, extensively corrected, of the first version of the opera The Rape of Lucretia (The Rape of

Lucretia).


This opera in two acts, with a libretto by Ronald Duncan based on the play by André Obey (1931), is written for a small ensemble: eight singers and thirteen instruments. The premiere took place on July 12, 1946 at the Glyndebourne Festival, under the direction of Ernest Ansermet, with Kathleen Ferrier (Lucretia) and Otakar Kraus (Tarquinius) in the leading roles, with Peter Pears and Joan Cross singing the male and female chorus. Corrections to these proofs were made during the performances of Glyndebourne, 12-27 July 1946; the date 25 July 1946 has been noted at the top of
























































the first page.



Score for voice and piano, engraved with the English text alone, by the publisher Boosey & Hawkes (quotation H. 15846), with corrections on almost every page, mostly by Britten's hand, in graphite and red pencil, including autograph stage directions in pencil, a musical annotation on the staves and in the margins of about 20 pages (including the back of one page), and numerous autograph word and tempo changes, and corrections made by assistants to the composer, in graphite or orange pencil, including a music manuscript leaf pinned on page 27 (by Erwin Stein), with many indications and editorial notes for the engraver, in graphite and blue pencil, plus a few later notes by other hands (taki
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

BRITTEN Benjamin (1913-1976). ÉPREUVES gravées...

Lot 1112
Aller au lot
Estimation :
8000 - 10000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 9 100EUR

BRITTEN Benjamin (1913-1976). ÉPREUVES gravées...

BRITTEN Benjamin (1913-1976).
ÉPREUVES gravées avec CORRECTIONS autographes, The Rape of Lucretia (1946) ; 225 feuillets grand in-4 (environ 30,5 x 25 cm) gravés au recto seulement, en feuilles (quelques déchirures aux bords, surtout aux ff. extérieurs, avec perte partielle de la dernière page).
Épreuves complètes, abondamment corrigées, de la première version de l’opéra The Rape of Lucretia (Le Viol de Lucrèce).
Cet opéra en deux actes, sur un livret de Ronald Duncan d’après la pièce d’André Obey (1931), est écrit pour une formation réduite : huit chanteurs et treize instruments. La création eut lieu le 12 juillet 1946 au Festival de Glyndebourne, sous la direction d’Ernest Ansermet, avec Kathleen Ferrier (Lucretia) et Otakar Kraus (Tarquinius) dans les principaux rôles, Peter Pears et Joan Cross chantant le chœur masculin et féminin. Les corrections des présentes épreuves furent réalisées lors des représentations de Glyndebourne, du 12 au 27 juillet 1946 ; la date du 25 juillet 1946 a été notée en haut de la première page.
Partition chant et piano, gravée avec le seul texte anglais, par l’éditeur Boosey & Hawkes (cotage H. 15846), avec des corrections à presque chaque page, la plupart de la main de Britten, à la mine de plomb et au crayon rouge, dont des indications scéniques autographes au crayon, une annotation musicale sur les portées et dans les marges d’environ 20 pages (y compris le verso d’un feuillet), et de nombreuses modifications autographes de mots et de tempi, et des corrections faites par des assistants pour le compositeur, à la mine de plomb ou au crayon orange, y compris un feuillet de manuscrit musical épinglé à la page 27 (par Erwin Stein), avec beaucoup d’indications et notes éditoriales pour le graveur, à la mine de plomb et au crayon bleu, plus quelques notes ultérieures d’autres mains (tenant compte d’éditions plus tardives), et quelques mots en allemand ajoutés aux parties de Tarquinius et Junius, à l’encre noire, peut-être pour
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue