Page from the Majma' al-Tawarikh of Hafiz-i... - Lot 176 - Ader

Lot 176
Got to lot
Estimation :
6000 - 8000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 19 200EUR
Page from the Majma' al-Tawarikh of Hafiz-i... - Lot 176 - Ader

Page from the Majma' al-Tawarikh of Hafiz-i Abru: The Chinese Emperors Feidi, Huaidi and Mindi

Text and illustration: Herat, Afghanistan, Timurid period, c. 1425-26

Persian manuscript on cream "Baghdadi" paper, the text in black naskh in red and blue rules, the titles in large red naskh, three Chinese emperors painted in polychrome washes enhanced with gold, the reverse with 33 lines of text, advertisement, inventory number '10150'.

Page size: 41.3 x 29.8 cm; view size: 32.8 x 22.5 cm


Marginal fading. Slight soiling. Polychromy leaks. Shortened folio.


The three emperors are identified in Persian as "Fuidi who reigned 7 years," "Hundi who reigned 6 years," and "Mundi who reigned 4 years," presumably the emperors who ruled in their own right.", presumably the Six Dynasty emperors Feidi (252-258 AD), Huaidi (307-312 AD) and Mindi (313-316 AD) (see online Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, The Metropolitan Museum of Art https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/chem/hd/chem.htm viewed on 17 October 2021).


This page was illustrated in Shahrukh's imperial workshop. The folio with these three emperors also exists in the Ilkhanid Arabic copy of the Jami' al-Tawarikh in the Khalili Collection in London, whose style it follows (Sheila S. Blair, A Compendium of Chronicles, Oxford, 1995, folio 253a and ff.247-259). It is to be compared with six other 'intact' folios depicting Chinese emperors belonging to our manuscript, held in the Princeton Library (Garrett 88GA and 89GB), the Chester Beatty Library, Dublin (CBL Per. 105.1a), the Yale University Library (no. 1983.94.7) at the Harvard Art Museums, Cambridge, MA (1960.183), and a final one recently sold at Sotheby's London on 26 April 2017, lot 114. The large number of figures in the China chapter compared to other parts of the work is probably due to the importance of relations with China in the Ilkhanid and later Timurid periods.


A folio from the Majma' al-Tawarikh of Hafiz-i Abru: The Chinese Emperors Feidi, Huaidi and Mindi, Timurid Herat, Afghanistan, circa 1425-26 (text and illustration)


Provenance: Former collection of Emile Tabbagh.


This lot is part of a set of eight pages from the Majma' al-Tawarikh of Sultan Shahrukh presented in this sale. For more information, see the PDF catalogue.

______________________________


Eight pages of the Majma' al-Tawarikh of Sultan Shahrukh from the collection of Emile Tabbagh

The eight pages presented here are from a major manuscript produced in Herat in the Timurid workshops of Sultan Shahrukh (r. 1405-47), successor to the founder of the dynasty, Timur (1336-1405). Entitled Majma' al-Tawarikh ("The Assembly of Stories"), this Universal History is a dynastic project that establishes the legitimacy of Shahrukh, the fourth son of Timur, to whom he was not the heir apparent.

The manuscript has a complex history, both in terms of its production in Shahrukh's scriptorium(kitabkhana) and its critical fortune in the twentieth century, when numerous illustrations were added to the manuscript shortly before its arrival in the United States around 1926, presumably in Iran, in an attempt to deceive art lovers. The manuscript was divided between 1928 and 1933 by the dealer and collector Émile Tabbagh, its owner with Parish Watson. It is now widely dispersed in international public and private collections. These eight pages were donated by the descendants of Émile Tabbagh (d. 1934). Other pages are in the British Museum in London, the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, the Aga Khan Museum in Toronto, the Chester Beatty Library in Dublin, etc. Through its additions, then its almost immediate division and dispersal between 1928 and 1935, the Majma' al-Tawarikh manuscript embodies the history of the Islamic art market in the early 20th century.

The Majma' al-Tawarikh is a Universal History from the Prophets of the Old Testament to the Reign of Shahrukh written by the historian Hafiz-i Abru (d. 1430). Two illustrated manuscripts survive today: one is autograph and is kept in the library of the Topkapi Sarayi Palace, Istanbul (Hazine 1653), the other, from which our folios are taken, is a copy dating from the same years, and is now dispersed. Both copies bear the seal of the Kitabkhana of Shahrukh... See PDF catalogue for more</p

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Page du Majma’ al-Tawarikh de Hafiz-i Abru :... - Lot 176 - Ader

Lot 176
Aller au lot
Estimation :
6000 - 8000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 19 200EUR
Page du Majma’ al-Tawarikh de Hafiz-i Abru :... - Lot 176 - Ader

Page du Majma’ al-Tawarikh de Hafiz-i Abru : Les Empereurs chinois Feidi, Huaidi et Mindi

Texte et illustration : Herat, Afghanistan, période timouride, vers 1425-26

Manuscrit persan sur papier crème «Baghdadi», le texte en naskh noir dans des réglures rouge et bleue, les titres en grand naskh rouge, trois empereurs chinois peints en lavis polychromes réhaussés d’or, le revers avec 33 lignes de texte, réclame, numéro d’inventaire ‘10150’.

Dim. page : 41,3 x 29,8 cm ; à vue : 32,8 x 22,5 cm


Mouillures dans les marges. Légères souillures. Sauts de polychromie. Folio raccourci.


Les trois empereurs sont identifiés en persan comme « Fuidi qui régna 7 ans », « Hundi qui régna 6 ans » et « Mundi qui régna 4 ans », vraisemblablement les empereurs des Six Dynasties Feidi (252-258 AD), Huaidi (307-312 AD) et Mindi (313-316 AD) (voir en ligne Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, The Metropolitan Museum of Art https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/chem/hd/chem.htm vu le 17 octobre 2021).


Cette page a été illustrée dans l’atelier impérial de Shahrukh. Le folio avec ces trois empereurs existe également dans la copie ilkhanide en arabe du Jami’ al-Tawarikh dans la collection Khalili de Londres dont il reprend le style (Sheila S. Blair, A Compendium of Chronicles, Oxford, 1995, folio 253a et ff.247-259). Il est à comparer avec six autres folios « intacts » dépeignant des empereurs chinois et appartenant à notre manuscrit, conservés à la Princeton Library (Garrett 88GA et 89GB), à la Chester Beatty Library, Dublin (CBL Per. 105.1a), à la Yale University Library (no 1983.94.7) au Harvard Art Museums, Cambridge, MA (1960.183) et à un dernier vendu récemment chez Sotheby’s Londres le 26 avril 2017, lot 114. Le grand nombre de personnages illustrant le chapitre sur la Chine par rapport à d’autres parties de l’œuvre est probablement à expliquer par l’importance des relations avec la Chine aux époques ilkhanide puis timouride. 


A folio from the Majma’ al-Tawarikh of Hafiz-i Abru: The Chinese Emperors Feidi, Huaidi and Mindi, Timurid Herat, Afghanistan, circa 1425-26 (text and illustration)


Provenance : Ancienne collection Émile Tabbagh.


Ce lot fait partie d'un ensemble de huit pages du Majma' al-Tawarikh du Sultan Shahrukhprésentées dans cette vente. Pour plus d'information, voir le catalogue PDF.

______________________________


Huit pages du Majma' Al-Tawarikh du Sultan Shahrukh provenant de la collection émile TABBAGH

 

 

Les huit pages présentées ici proviennent d’un manuscrit majeur produit à Herat dans les ateliers timourides du Sultan Shahrukh (r. 1405-47), successeur du fondateur de la dynastie, Timur (1336-1405). Intitulé Majma’ al-Tawarikh (« L’Assemblée des Histoires »), cette Histoire universelle est un projet dynastique qui permet d’asseoir la légitimité de Shahrukh, quatrième fils de Timur dont il n’était pas l’héritier présumé.

Le manuscrit possède une histoire complexe, liée tant à son élaboration dans le scriptorium (kitabkhana) de Shahrukh qu’à sa fortune critique au XXe siècle. En effet, de nombreuses illustrations ont été ajoutées au manuscrit peu avant son arrivée aux États-Unis vers 1926, vraisemblablement en Iran, dans le but de tromper les amateurs d’art. Le manuscrit est divisé entre 1928 et 1933 par le marchand et collectionneur Émile Tabbagh, son propriétaire avec Parish Watson. Il est aujourd’hui très largement dispersé dans les collections publiques et privées internationales. Ces huit pages sont offertes par les descendants d’Émile Tabbagh (m. 1934). D’autres pages se trouvent au British Museum de Londres, au Metropolitan Museum of Art de New York, au Los Angeles County Museum of Art, à l’Aga Khan Museum de Toronto, à la Chester Beatty Library de Dublin, etc. Par ses ajouts, puis sa division et dispersion quasi immédiate entre 1928 et 1935, le manuscrit du Majma’ al-Tawarikh incarne l’histoire du marché de l’art islamique au début du XXe siècle.

Le Majma’ al-Tawarikh est une Histoire universelle depuis les Prophètes de l’Ancien Testament jusqu'au règne de Shahrukh écrite par l’historien Hafiz-i Abru (m. 1430). Il subsiste aujourd’hui deux manuscrits illustrés : l’un est autographe et conservé à la bibliothèque du Palais de Topkapi Sarayi, Istanbul (Hazine 1653), l’autre, dont sont issus nos folios, en est une copie datant des mêmes années, elle est aujourd’hui dispersée. Les deux copies portent le sceau du Kitabkhana de Shahrukh... Voir le catalogue PDF pour la suite

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue