Page from Hafiz-i Abru's Majma' al-Tawarikh:... - Lot 181 - Ader

Lot 181
Got to lot
Estimation :
1000 - 1200 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 8 960EUR
Page from Hafiz-i Abru's Majma' al-Tawarikh:... - Lot 181 - Ader

Page from Hafiz-i Abru's Majma' al-Tawarikh: History of the Fatimid Caliph al-Zahir li-Din i'llah (1005-1036)

Text: Herat, Afghanistan, Timurid period, ca. 1425; illustration, ca. 1900-1925, probably Iran

Persian manuscript on brown "Herati" paper, the title of the chapter on the Fatimid caliph in large red thuluth, the text in black naskh in red and blue rules, the reverse with 33 lines of text, part of the text later replaced by the illustration depicting two sinister figures seated on either side of a bouquet, advertisement, inventory number '10385'.

Page size: 42 x 33.1 cm; view: 33.5 x 22.5 cm; painting: 13 x 22.5 cm


Stains, soiling. One fold. Illustration added around 1900-25.


The text deals with the Fatimid caliph al-Zahir li-Din Allah (1005-1036) and 'Ali bin Ahmad al-Jarjarani who was vizier from 1027 to 1045. The text mentions the years AH 395/1004-05 and AH 483/1090-91. The script is clearly that of the scribe of group H as defined by Ghiasian, which is found on the brown folios of the scattered manuscript (Ghiasian, op.cit., p.71).


A folio from the Majma' al-Tawarikh of Hafiz-i Abru: Chapter on the Fatimid Caliph al-Zahir li-Din Allah (1005-36), Text: Herat, Afghanistan, Timurid Period, circa 1425-26; illustration circa 1900-1925, probably painted in Iran


Provenance: Former Émile Tabbagh collection.


This lot is part of a set of eight pages from the Majma' al-Tawarikh of Sultan Shahrukh presented in this sale. For more information, see the PDF catalogue.

______________________________


Eight pages of the Majma' al-Tawarikh of Sultan Shahrukh from the collection of Emile Tabbagh

The eight pages presented here are from a major manuscript produced in Herat in the Timurid workshops of Sultan Shahrukh (r. 1405-47), successor to the founder of the dynasty, Timur (1336-1405). Entitled Majma' al-Tawarikh ("The Assembly of Stories"), this Universal History is a dynastic project that establishes the legitimacy of Shahrukh, the fourth son of Timur, to whom he was not the heir apparent.

The manuscript has a complex history, both in terms of its production in Shahrukh's scriptorium(kitabkhana) and its critical fortune in the twentieth century, when numerous illustrations were added to the manuscript shortly before its arrival in the United States around 1926, presumably in Iran, in an attempt to deceive art lovers. The manuscript was divided between 1928 and 1933 by the dealer and collector Émile Tabbagh, its owner with Parish Watson. It is now widely dispersed in international public and private collections. These eight pages were donated by the descendants of Émile Tabbagh (d. 1934). Other pages are in the British Museum in London, the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, the Aga Khan Museum in Toronto, the Chester Beatty Library in Dublin, etc. Through its additions, then its almost immediate division and dispersal between 1928 and 1935, the Majma' al-Tawarikh manuscript embodies the history of the Islamic art market in the early 20th century.

The Majma' al-Tawarikh is a Universal History from the Prophets of the Old Testament to the Reign of Shahrukh written by the historian Hafiz-i Abru (d. 1430). Two illustrated manuscripts survive today: one is autograph and is kept in the library of the Topkapi Sarayi Palace, Istanbul (Hazine 1653), the other, from which our folios are taken, is a copy dating from the same years, and is now dispersed. Both copies bear the seal of the Kitabkhana of Shahrukh... See the PDF catalogue for more information


My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Page du Majma’ al-Tawarikh de Hafiz-i Abru :... - Lot 181 - Ader

Lot 181
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1000 - 1200 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 8 960EUR
Page du Majma’ al-Tawarikh de Hafiz-i Abru :... - Lot 181 - Ader

Page du Majma’ al-Tawarikh de Hafiz-i Abru : Histoire du calife fatimide al-Zahir li-Din i‘llah (1005-1036)

Texte : Hérat, Afghanistan, période timouride, vers 1425  ; illustration, vers 1900-1925, probablement Iran

Manuscrit persan sur papier brun de type «Herati», le titre du chapitre sur le calife fatimide en grand thuluth rouge, le texte en naskh noir dans des réglures rouge et bleue, le revers avec 33 lignes de texte, une partie du texte remplacé tardivement par l’illustration dépeignant deux personnages sinisants assis de part et d’autre d’un bouquet, réclame, numéro d’inventaire ‘10385’.

Dim. page : 42 x 33,1 cm ; à vue : 33,5 x 22,5 cm ; peinture : 13 x 22,5 cm


Mouillures, souillures. Une pliure. Illustration ajoutée vers 1900-25.


Le texte traite du calife fatimide al-Zahir li-Din Allah (1005-1036) et de ‘Ali bin Ahmad al-Jarjarani qui fut vizir de 1027 à 1045. Le texte mentionne les années AH 395/1004-05 et AH 483/1090-91. Le script est clairement celui du scribe du groupe H défini par Ghiasian, qui se retrouve sur les folios bruns du manuscrit dispersé (Ghiasian, op.cit., p.71).


A folio from the Majma’ al-Tawarikh of Hafiz-i Abru: Chapter on the Fatimid Caliph al-Zahir li-Din Allah (1005-36), Text: Herat, Afghanistan, Timurid Period, circa 1425-26 ; illustration circa 1900-1925, probably painted in Iran


Provenance : Ancienne collection Émile Tabbagh.


Ce lot fait partie d'un ensemble de huit pages du Majma' al-Tawarikh du Sultan Shahrukhprésentées dans cette vente. Pour plus d'information, voir le catalogue PDF.

______________________________


Huit pages du Majma' Al-Tawarikh du Sultan Shahrukh provenant de la collection émile TABBAGH

 

 

Les huit pages présentées ici proviennent d’un manuscrit majeur produit à Herat dans les ateliers timourides du Sultan Shahrukh (r. 1405-47), successeur du fondateur de la dynastie, Timur (1336-1405). Intitulé Majma’ al-Tawarikh (« L’Assemblée des Histoires »), cette Histoire universelle est un projet dynastique qui permet d’asseoir la légitimité de Shahrukh, quatrième fils de Timur dont il n’était pas l’héritier présumé.

Le manuscrit possède une histoire complexe, liée tant à son élaboration dans le scriptorium (kitabkhana) de Shahrukh qu’à sa fortune critique au XXe siècle. En effet, de nombreuses illustrations ont été ajoutées au manuscrit peu avant son arrivée aux États-Unis vers 1926, vraisemblablement en Iran, dans le but de tromper les amateurs d’art. Le manuscrit est divisé entre 1928 et 1933 par le marchand et collectionneur Émile Tabbagh, son propriétaire avec Parish Watson. Il est aujourd’hui très largement dispersé dans les collections publiques et privées internationales. Ces huit pages sont offertes par les descendants d’Émile Tabbagh (m. 1934). D’autres pages se trouvent au British Museum de Londres, au Metropolitan Museum of Art de New York, au Los Angeles County Museum of Art, à l’Aga Khan Museum de Toronto, à la Chester Beatty Library de Dublin, etc. Par ses ajouts, puis sa division et dispersion quasi immédiate entre 1928 et 1935, le manuscrit du Majma’ al-Tawarikh incarne l’histoire du marché de l’art islamique au début du XXe siècle.

Le Majma’ al-Tawarikh est une Histoire universelle depuis les Prophètes de l’Ancien Testament jusqu'au règne de Shahrukh écrite par l’historien Hafiz-i Abru (m. 1430). Il subsiste aujourd’hui deux manuscrits illustrés : l’un est autographe et conservé à la bibliothèque du Palais de Topkapi Sarayi, Istanbul (Hazine 1653), l’autre, dont sont issus nos folios, en est une copie datant des mêmes années, elle est aujourd’hui dispersée. Les deux copies portent le sceau du Kitabkhana de Shahrukh... Voir le catalogue PDF pour la suite


Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue