Miscellaneous [Pompeii]. Choice of paintings... - Lot 28 - Ader

Lot 28
Got to lot
Estimation :
3000 - 4000 EUR
Miscellaneous [Pompeii]. Choice of paintings... - Lot 28 - Ader
Miscellaneous
[Pompeii]. Choice of paintings of Pompeii / most of them of historical subject / lithographed in colours by M. Roux / and published with the archaeological explanation of each painting / and an introduction on the history of painting among the Greeks and the Romans / by M. Raoul-Rochette... Paris, printed by authorization of the king at the Royal Printing Office, 1846 One large vol. in-fol. [470 x 620] comprising the text in two parts ("Part I. Loves of the gods"; "Part II. Heroic times") followed by 28 lithographed plates by H. Roux aîné (chromolithography by Engelmann and Graf) after the frescoes and mosaics of Pompeii, with a black litho-graphy bound in at the end. Each chapter heading decorated with an anonymous in-text etching. Very nice proofs on strong ivory vellum, very fresh in colour. Light scattered foxing (more marked on the text leaves on thin white vellum). Bound in red half-grain ribbed paper with gilt fillets and titles, boards in speckled paper (slightly faded). Very rare.
Désiré Raoul Rochette, known as Raoul-Rochette (1789-1954), was a professor, curator of the cabinet des médailles, and became a member of the Académie des beaux-arts in 1838. Between 1826 and 1851, he travelled several times to Italy and Sicily, from where he brought back prints, antiques, coins and figurines.
In this book, the expertise of Engelmann and Graf is used to render the coloured paintings of Pompeii using chromolithography, which has reached the height of its perfection. Jean Engelmann (1816-1875) was the son of the lithographer Godefroy Engelmann. Together, father and son patented the chromolithography process in 1837. After his father's death in 1839, Jean took over the management of the chromolithography workshops in Paris in partnership with his uncle Thierry until 1851. In 1842, he joined forces with a friend from Mulhouse, Auguste Graf. They specialized in the reproduction of illuminated manuscripts, books of hours and plates for Les Arts et l'Industrie.


My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Divers [Pompéi]. Choix de peintures de Pompéi / la... - Lot 28 - Ader

Lot 28
Aller au lot
Estimation :
3000 - 4000 EUR
Divers [Pompéi]. Choix de peintures de Pompéi / la... - Lot 28 - Ader
Divers
[Pompéi]. Choix de peintures de Pompéi / la plupart de sujet historique / lithographiées en couleurs par M. Roux / et publiées avec l’explication archéologique de chaque peinture / et une introduction sur l’histoire de la peinture chez les Grecs et les Romains / par M. Raoul-Rochette… Paris, imprimé par autorisation du roi à l’Imprimerie Royale, 1846. Un vol. grand in-fol. [470 x 620] comprenant le texte en deux parties (« Première partie. Amours des dieux » ; « Seconde partie. Temps héroïques ») suivi de 28 pl. lithographiées par H. Roux aîné (chromolithographie de Engelmann et Graf) d’après les fresques et mosaïques de Pompéi, avec une litho-graphie en noir reliée en sus à la fin. Chaque tête de chapitre ornée d’une gravure anonyme à l’eau-forte in-texte. Très belles épreuves sur vélin fort ivoire, très fraîches de coloris. Rousseurs claires éparses (plus marquées aux feuillets de texte sur vélin blanc mince). Reliure demi-chagrin rouge à nerfs avec filets et titres dorés, plats cartonnés papier moucheté (légèrement défraîchie). Très rare.
Désiré Raoul Rochette, dit Raoul-Rochette (1789-1954), fut professeur, conservateur du cabinet des médailles, et devint membre de l’Académie des beaux-arts en 1838. Entre 1826 et 1851, il voyagea à plusieurs reprises en Italie et en Sicile, d’où il rapporta estampes, objets d’antiquité, monnaies et figurines.
Dans cet ouvrage, le savoir-faire de la maison Engelmann et Graf est mis au service du rendu des peintures colorées de Pompéi par la chromolithographie, qui atteint ici le summum de son perfectionnement. Jean Engelmann (1816-1875) était le fils de l’imprimeur lithographe Godefroy Engelmann. Ensemble, le père et le fils déposèrent le brevet d’invention du procédé de chromolithographie en 1837. À la mort de son père, en 1839, Jean prit la direction des ateliers spécialisés en chromolithographie, à Paris, en association avec son oncle, Thierry – et ce jusqu’en 1851. En 1842, il s’associa avec un ami de Mulhouse, Auguste Graf. Ils se spécialisèrent dans la reproduction de manuscrits enluminés, de livres d’heures, de planches pour Les Arts et l’Industrie.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue