Victor-Jean NICOLLE (Paris 1754 - 1826) Oratory... - Lot 37 - Ader

Lot 37
Got to lot
Estimation :
1200 - 1500 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 4 096EUR
Victor-Jean NICOLLE (Paris 1754 - 1826) Oratory... - Lot 37 - Ader
Victor-Jean NICOLLE (Paris 1754 - 1826)
Oratory on the Via Osti in Rome - View of the Ancient Saint Pancras Gate on Mount Janiculum in Rome
Watercolour, pen and brown ink.
26 x 19 cm each

This drawing is related to the famous painting in the Louvre, painted in 1793-94. There is a repentance in the position of the arm and torso of the muse on the left. The background is simplified compared to the painting in the Louvre.
There is another drawing of the group that has been sold several times (see for the last one: Sotheby's, New-York, January 26, 2011, n° 662, reproduced). Also large in size, this one focuses on the contours while the shadows are cross-hatched. The woman's hand on the right rests on her thigh. A line sketch is also in the Louvre (RF 29248).
Finally, a drawing of this subject was presented at Regnault's after-death sale (Paris, 1-5 March 1830).
It would seem that Regnault painted Les Trois grâces to show a less radical way in the antique inspiration than the severe style of David in Les Sabines. Regnault used professional models for the nudes in his paintings, but he usually gave the faces the features of his female pupils. Regnault knew Raphael's small composition (Musée de Chantilly) based on the antique in the Piccolomini Library (Duomo, Siena). A beautiful group of the Three Graces from the Borghese collection entered the Louvre in 1807.
The mythological subject goes back to antiquity. The Greeks called them Charites. It was Hesiod who brought their number to three. In the ancient city of the Minyans, they were worshipped as water gods in the river Cephisus, as Pindar recalls. Daughters of Zeus and Eurynome (daughter of Ocean and Thetis), they are called Aglae, Euphrosyne and Thalia. They are honored respectively as the goddesses of beauty or splendor, of charm and gaiety, of abundance and creativity. They became the Graces with the Romans. Thalia symbolizes the muse of the theatre in traditional iconography.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Victor-Jean NICOLLE (Paris 1754 - 1826) Oratoire...

Lot 37
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1200 - 1500 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 4 096EUR

Victor-Jean NICOLLE (Paris 1754 - 1826) Oratoire...

Victor-Jean NICOLLE (Paris 1754 - 1826)
Oratoire sur la voie Osti à Rome - Vue de l’ancienne porte Saint Pancras située sur le Mont Janicule à Rome
Aquarelle, plume et encre brune.
26 x 19 cm chaque

Ce dessin est en rapport avec le célèbre tableau conservé au Louvre peint en 1793-94. On remarque un repentir sur la position du bras et du torse de la muse à gauche. Le fond est simplifié par rapport au tableau du Louvre.
Il existe un autre dessin du groupe passé en vente à plusieurs reprises (voir pour la dernière : Sotheby’s, New-York, le 26 janvier 2011, n° 662, reproduit). Également de grande taille, ce dernier se concentre sur les contours tandis que les ombres sont hachurées. La main de la femme à droite repose sur sa cuisse. Un croquis au trait est aussi conservé au musée du Louvre (RF 29248).
Enfin, un dessin de ce sujet a été présenté à la vente après décès de Regnault (Paris, les 1-5 mars 1830).
Il semblerait que Regnault ait peint Les Trois grâces pour montrer une voie moins radicale dans l’inspiration antique que le style sévère de David dans Les Sabines. Regnault utilisait des modèles professionnels pour les nus dans ses peintures, mais il avait pour habitude de donner les traits de ses élèves féminines aux visages. Regnault connaissait la petite composition de Raphaël (musée de Chantilly) basée sur l’antique de la Bibliothèque Piccolomini (Duomo de Sienne). Un beau groupe des Trois Grâces de la collection Borghèse entre au Louvre en 1807.
Le sujet mythologique remonte à l’antiquité. Les Grecs les appelaient Charites. C’est Hésiode qui porte leur nombre à trois. Dans l’antique cité des Minyens, elles étaient adorées comme divinités des eaux dans le fleuve Céphise, comme le rappelle Pindare. Filles de Zeus et Eurynomé (fille d’Océan et Thétis), elles se prénomment Aglaé, Euphrosyne et Thalie. Elles sont honorées respectivement comme les déesses de la beauté ou de la splendeur, du charme et de la gaieté, de l’abondance et de la créativité. Elles deviennent les Grâces avec les Romains. Thalie symbolisera la muse du Théâtre dans l’iconographie traditionnelle.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue