Joseph HAYDN (1732-1809). Autograph music... - Lot 82 - Ader

Lot 82
Got to lot
Estimation :
30000 - 40000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 70 400EUR
Joseph HAYDN (1732-1809). Autograph music... - Lot 82 - Ader
Joseph HAYDN (1732-1809). Autograph music manuscript, [2 Trios with baritone]; 4 pages of one bifeuillet 35.8 x 21.7 cm (slight split at middle fold).
Rare autograph manuscript of two trios or divertimenti for baritone, viola and cello [Hob.XI 48 and 50].
The manuscript is written in brown ink on a two-sheet paper with 12 hand-drawn staves, and numbered (late) 41 in pencil.
At the bottom of the first page, ex-dono from the music publisher August Artaria (1807-1893) to the violinist Henri Vieuxtemps: "Authograph of Jos. Haydn / given to Mr. H. Vieuxtemps / by Auguste Artaria / Vienna this 23th of February 1854".
[August Artaria had already given Vieuxtemps a manuscript of Josef Haydn in 1837, see Marie Cornaz, " Henry Vieuxtemps, sur les traces d'un jeune violoniste virtuose ", in Monte Artium, I, 2008].

The baritone was a kind of viola da gamba, which, in addition to its gut strings, rubbed with the bow, was equipped, behind them, with metal strings that resonated sympathetically, and which could also be plucked by the thumb of the left hand (which made it rather difficult to play), all of which gave the instrument a very particular resonance and tone. Haydn's patron and protector, Prince Nicholas Esterházy (1714-1790), known as "the Magnificent," was a baritone enthusiast, of which he was quite proficient, and owned several; he also had a resident baritone player, Andreas Lidl. Haydn, who practiced playing the baritone himself for six months, composed 175 baritone pieces for his prince: octets, quintets, duets, cassations, divertimentos, concertos, and especially 126 trios for baritone, viola and cello.

The two trios noted in this manuscript were composed around 1767-1768. These dates can be deduced from the binding invoices for the copies of the trios or "divertimenti" in five volumes (each volume comprising three quires corresponding to each of the parts: baritone, viola and cello): trio 48 is the last of volume II (invoice of October 11, 1767, nos. 25-48), and trio 50 is the second of volume III (invoice of July 7, 1768, 49-72).
According to Elaine R. Sisman (quoted by Marc Vignal), volumes II and III "contain a certain amount of expansion and experimentation. Haydn is now interested in the possibilities and sonorities of the baritone, exploiting not only its sympathetic plucked strings but also its solo capabilities in concertante and cadential episodes. At the same time, he explored new textures by allowing the bass to participate in the thematic work, a move previously unheard of in his chamber music...
The autograph manuscripts of the Baritone Trios are extremely rare. Most of the Trios are known only through copies (some have disappeared). Autographs, partial or complete, are known for only about ten Trios, to which the present manuscript is added.

The manuscript presents the last two movements of the Trio Hob.XI 48, and the first movement of the Trio Hob.XI 50, both in D major. The numbers below some of the notes indicate the sympathetic notes with the corresponding string number.
Page 1 gives the "Trio" (from the Menuetto, 2nd movement of the Trio Hob.XI 48), notated on three systems of three superimposed staves (baritone, viola, cello): lines 1-3, 4-6, and 7-9, or 28 bars without repeats. At the top, Haydn has written the title "Trio," and at the end the indication "Menuet da capo."
Pages 2-3 give the "Finale. Allegro di molto" (in Haydn's hand), 3rd and last movement of the Trio Hob.XI 48), again notated on three superimposed staves (baritone, viola, cello), i.e. eight systems (4 per page), or 90 bars without repeats. A first draft of the 47th bar has been crossed out. At the end, as usual, Haydn inscribed the formula: "Laus Deo".
Page 4 presents the draft of the first movement of the Trio Hob.XI 50. This movement consists of a theme (Andante) and 4 variations, but only the variations are noted here, in an order different from the final version: 3, 1, 2 and 4. The 3rd variation (lines 1-2) is notated on a single staff, bringing together the baritone part and, below it, the viola part; Haydn did not include the bass or cello part, this voice being the same in the theme and the variations. The first variation is the only one to be notated on three superimposed staves corresponding to the three voices (lines 3-5 and 6-8). The second variation (lines 9-10) is, like the third, notated on a single staff, bringing together the baritone part and, below, the alto part. The 4th and last variation (lines 11-12) is also notated on a single staff, with the baritone part and the viola part below it.
Thanks to Dr Armin Raab of the Joseph-Haydn Institute for his valuable information.
Provenance: collection of the violinist Henr
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Joseph HAYDN (1732-1809). Manuscrit musical... - Lot 82 - Ader

Lot 82
Aller au lot
Estimation :
30000 - 40000 EUR
Joseph HAYDN (1732-1809). Manuscrit musical... - Lot 82 - Ader
Joseph HAYDN (1732-1809). Manuscrit musical autographe, [2 Trios avec baryton] ; 4 pages d’un bifeuillet 35,8 x 21, 7 cm (légère fente au pli médian).
Rare manuscrit autographe de deux trios ou divertimenti pour baryton, alto et violoncelle [Hob.XI 48 et 50].
Le manuscrit est noté à l’encre brune sur un bifeuillet présentant 12 portées tracées à la main, et numéroté (tardivement) 41 au crayon.
Au bas de la première page, ex-dono de l’éditeur musical August Artaria (1807-1893) au violoniste Henri Vieuxtemps : « Authographe de Jos. Haydn  /  offert à Mr H. Vieuxtemps  /  par Auguste Artaria  /  Vienne ce 23 Fév[rie]r 1854 ».
[August Artaria avait déjà donné à Vieuxtemps en 1837 un manuscrit de Josef Haydn, voir Marie Cornaz, « Henry Vieuxtemps, sur les traces d’un jeune violoniste virtuose », in Monte Artium, I, 2008.]

Le baryton était une sorte de viole de gambe, qui, en plus de ses cordes en boyau, frottées avec l’archet, était équipé, en arrière d’elles, de cordes métalliques qui résonnaient par sympathie, et qui pouvaient également être pincées par le pouce de la main gauche (ce qui en rendait le jeu assez difficile), le tout donnant à l’instrument une résonance et une sonorité très particulière. Le patron et protecteur de Haydn, le prince Nicolas Esterházy (1714-1790) dit « le Magnifique », était passionné de baryton, dont il jouait assez bien, et en possédait plusieurs ; il avait également à demeure un joueur de baryton, Andreas Lidl. Haydn, qui s’est lui-même exercé pendant six mois au jeu du baryton, a composé pour son prince 175 pièces pour le baryton : octuors, quintettes, duos, cassations, divertimentos, concertos, et surtout 126 trios pour baryton, alto et violoncelle.

Les deux trios notés sur ce manuscrit ont été composés vers 1767-1768. Ces dates se déduisent des factures de reliure des copies des trios ou « divertimenti » en cinq volumes (chaque volume comprenant trois cahiers correspondant à chacune des parties : baryton, alto et violoncelle) : le trio 48 est le dernier du volume II (facture du 11 octobre 1767, nos 25-48), et le trio 50 est le second du volume III (facture du 7 juillet 1768, 49-72).
Selon Elaine R. Sisman (citée par Marc Vignal), les volumes II et III « contiennent une certaine dose d’expansion et d’expérimentation. Haydn s’intéresse désormais aux possibilités et aux sonorités du baryton, exploitant non seulement ses cordes pincées sympathique mais aussi ses capacités de soliste dans des épisodes concertants et cadentiels. Parallèlement, il explore de nouvelles textures en permettant à la basse de participer au travail thématique, démarche auparavant inédite dans sa musique de chambre »...
Les manuscrits autographes des Trios pour baryton sont d’une grande rareté. La plupart des Trios ne sont connus que par des copies (certains ont disparu). On ne connaît d’autographes, partiels ou complets, que pour une dizaine environ de Trios, auxquels vient s’ajouter le présent manuscrit.

Le manuscrit présente les deux derniers mouvements du Trio Hob.XI 48, et le premier mouvement du Trio Hob.XI 50, tous deux en ré majeur. Les chiffres en dessous de certaines notes indiquent les notes sympathiques avec le chiffre de la corde correspondante.
La page 1 donne le « Trio » (du Menuetto, 2e mouvement du Trio Hob.XI 48), noté sur trois systèmes de trois portées superposées (baryton, alto, violoncelle) : lignes 1-3, 4-6, et 7-9, soit 28 mesures sans les reprises. En tête, Haydn a inscrit le titre « Trio », et à la fin l’indication « Menuet da capo ».
Les pages 2-3 donnent le « Finale. Allegro di molto » (de la main de Haydn), 3e et dernier mouvement du Trio Hob.XI 48), noté là encore sur trois portées superposées (baryton, alto, violoncelle), soit huit systèmes (4 par page), soit 90 mesures sans les reprises. Une première rédaction de la 47e mesure a été biffée. À la fin, comme à son habitude, Haydn inscrit la formule : « Laus Deo ».
La page 4 présente le brouillon du premier mouvement du Trio Hob.XI 50. Ce mouvement consiste en un thème (Andante) et 4 variations, mais seules les variations sont notées ici, dans un ordre différent de la version définitive : 3, 1, 2 et 4. La 3e variation (lignes 1-2) est notée sur une seule portée, rassemblant la partie de baryton et, en dessous, celle d’alto ; Haydn n’y a pas repris la basse ou partie de violoncelle, cette voix étant la même dans le thème et les variations. La 1ère variation est la seule à être notée sur trois portées superposées correspondant aux trois voix (lignes 3-5 et 6-8). La 2e variation (lignes 9-10) est, comme la 3e, notée sur une seule portée, rassemblant la partie de baryton et, en dessous, celle d’alto. La 4e et dernière variation (lignes 11-12) est, elle aussi, notée sur une seule portée, rassemblant la partie de baryton et, en dessous, celle d’alto.
Remerciements au Dr Armin Raab du Joseph-Haydn Institut pour ses précieux renseignements.
Provenance : collection du violoniste Henr
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue