Giacomo MEYERBEER (1791-1864). L.A.S., Berlin... - Lot 104 - Ader

Lot 104
Got to lot
Estimation :
500 - 700 EUR
Giacomo MEYERBEER (1791-1864). L.A.S., Berlin... - Lot 104 - Ader
Giacomo MEYERBEER (1791-1864). L.A.S., Berlin 21 April 1853, to the Minister of Public Instruction [Hippolyte Fortoul]; 4 pages in-4 in his cipher.
About his future projects: L'Africaine, and L'Étoile du Nord (to be premiered at the Opéra-Comique on 16 February 1854; L'Africaine was not premiered at the Opéra until 28 April 1865, after the composer's death).
He thanks the Minister for his confidence, and wants to confide in him "my most intimate secrets as an author", but asks him not to reveal anything: "You know the inconveniences and disadvantages that can result from publishing an artist's projects too prematurely [...] I do indeed have a libretto for the Grand Opéra [L'Africaine]; however, it has been altered in such a way by M. Scribe that it has become a completely new work to be recomposed. [...] this work was only delivered to me two months ago, so that it is impossible for me to finish this new work, which comprises five acts, by next winter. But he confided, "under the seal of secrecy," that he had "a great work all finished for the Imperial Theatre of the Opéra Comique, the subject of which seems to me to be perfectly suited to the present circumstances. If, as I hope, the Director of the Opéra Comique fulfils the conditions I have asked of him, conditions which are all artistic, I will come to Paris this summer to direct the rehearsals, so that it can be performed at the beginning of the winter. [This will not prevent me from working ardently on my score for the Grand Opéra, where I will henceforth experience a double pleasure in producing a work, since this fine institution is now placed under the auspices of Your Excellency, who has always honoured me with his benevolent protection"...
A L.A.S. to Mme Thérèse Célérier, Thursday evening [beginning of January 1864] (1 p. in-8, one envelope enclosed), offering her a box for the "brilliant" revival of Rossini's Moses: "I am always a little indisposed & by these great cold spells I do not go out much, that is why I have not yet come to wish you a happy new year in person"...
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Giacomo MEYERBEER (1791-1864). L.A.S., Berlin... - Lot 104 - Ader

Lot 104
Aller au lot
Estimation :
500 - 700 EUR
Giacomo MEYERBEER (1791-1864). L.A.S., Berlin... - Lot 104 - Ader
Giacomo MEYERBEER (1791-1864). L.A.S., Berlin 21 avril 1853, au ministre de l’Instruction publique [Hippolyte Fortoul] ; 4 pages in-4 à son chiffre.
Au sujet de ses futurs projets : L’Africaine, et L’Étoile du Nord (qui sera créé à l’Opéra-Comique le 16 février 1854 ; L’Africaine ne sera créée à l’Opéra que le 28 avril 1865, après la mort du compositeur).
Il remercie le Ministre pour sa confiance, et veut lui confier « mes secrets les plus intimes d’auteur », mais en lui demandant de ne rien en dévoiler : « Vous connaissez les désagréments & les désavantages qui peuvent résulter d’une publication trop prématurée des projets d’un artiste […] J’ai à la vérité un libretto pour le Grand Opéra [L’Africaine] ; cependant il a été retouché de telle façon par M. Scribe, que c’est devenu un ouvrage tout nouveau à recomposer. […] ce travail ne m’a été livré que depuis deux mois, de sorte qu’il m’est impossible de pouvoir terminer pour l’hiver prochain ce nouvel ouvrage qui comprend cinq actes ». Mais il confie, « sous le sceau du secret », avoie « pour le théâtre Impérial de l’Opéra comique un grand ouvrage tout achevé, dont le sujet me parait même convenir parfaitement aux conjonctures actuelles. Si comme je l’espère, le Directeur de l’Opéra comique remplit les conditions que je lui ai demandées, conditions toutes artistiques du reste, je viendrai à Paris cet été pour en diriger les répétitions, afin qu’il puisse être représenté au commencement de l’hiver. […] cela ne m’empêchera pas de travailler avec ardeur à ma partition pour le Grand Opéra, où j’éprouverai dorénavant un double plaisir à produire un ouvrage, puisque cette belle institution est maintenant placée sous les auspices de Votre Excellence, qui m’a toujours honoré de sa bienveillante protection »…
On joint une L.A.S. à Mme Thérèse Célérier, Jeudi soir [début janvier 1864] (1 p. in-8, une enveloppe jointe), lui offrant une loge pour la « brillante » reprise du Moïse de Rossini : « Je suis toujours un peu indisposé & par ces grands froids je sors peu, voila pourquoi je ne suis pas encore venu vous souhaiter la bonne année en personne »…
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue