Fragment of a lily tile, Mughal India, 17th... - Lot 102 - Ader

Lot 102
Got to lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 9 600EUR
Fragment of a lily tile, Mughal India, 17th... - Lot 102 - Ader

Fragment of a lily tile, Mughal India, 17th century

Red clay ceramic decorated with black lines repeating a lily motif in full bloom of bright orange and blue on a yellow background.

20,4 x 15,8 cm

Small chips, missing edges, restorations.


A fine Mughal fragmentary pottery tile with a lily pattern, Mughal India, 17th century


Provenance: Marie-Christine David Collection.


________________________


Marie-Christine David Collection: Lots from 102 to 169


The collection of paintings and objects of art presented here is that of Marie-Christine David (1945-2021), an expert and key figure in the Islamic and Indian art market.

The works included in the catalogue evoke her refined and demanding taste applied to the great diversity of Islamic and Indian art. Marie-Christine David's love of Indian paintings shines through in her collection: each work conveys a message, from the amorous quarrels in the Punjab (lot 126), to the European influence in the paintings of Bundi (lot 113), to the taste of Persia in the Mysore of Tipu Sultan (lot 115). Tiles with floral decoration on a bright yellow background are a celebration of 17th-century Mughal art (lots 102 and 104). Capturing beauty in the finest detail, Marie-Christine David has assembled a very personal, private collection whose elegance gradually reveals itself to the viewer. Works such as the rare Fatimid ceramics from the Fayum (lot 141) or the Nasrid or Mudejar tabletop (lot 165) remind us of the sure taste and curiosity of this true art lover.

A graduate of the École du Louvre, Marie-Christine David completed her training in Oriental art history at the Musée Guimet. In 1970, she took part in the sales of the Jean Pozzi Collection, during which a major collection of Indian paintings was dispersed at the Palais Galliera and the Hôtel Drouot.

In 1973, she joined the Soustiel Gallery at 146 Boulevard Haussmann under the aegis of Joseph and Irène Soustiel. From 1973 to the 1990s, Marie-Christine David collaborated with Jean Soustiel on numerous books and catalogues on Oriental art. She participated in the writing of the essential opus La céramique islamique, Le guide du connaisseur published in 1985 under the direction of Jean Soustiel and presented several exhibitions of paintings whose works have now joined the most prestigious public and private collections.

Marie-Christine David founded the firm MC David Expertises in 2005 and then opened the Oriental art department at Ader where she organises specialised sales that are highly anticipated by the market. An expert known for her rigor, probity and discretion, Marie-Christine David had the confidence of many French and foreign clients whom she accompanied in their journey as collectors. She led her firm MC David Expertises with strength and passion until her death in March 2021.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Fragment de carreau à décor de lys, Inde... - Lot 102 - Ader

Lot 102
Aller au lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 9 600EUR
Fragment de carreau à décor de lys, Inde... - Lot 102 - Ader

Fragment de carreau à décor de lys, Inde moghole, XVIIe siècle

En céramique argileuse rouge à décor de lignes noires répétant un motif de lys épanoui d’un orange et d’un bleu éclatants sur fond jaune.

20,4 x 15,8 cm

Petits éclats, manques en bordure, restaurations.


A fine Mughal fragmentary pottery tile with a lily pattern, Mughal India, 17th century


Provenance : Collection Marie-Christine David.


________________________


Collection Marie-Christine David : Lots de 102 à 169

 

La collection de peintures et d’objets d’art présentée ici est celle de Marie-Christine David (1945-2021), experte et personnalité incontournable du marché de l’art islamique et indien.

Les œuvres inclues au catalogue évoquent son goût raffiné et exigeant appliqué à la grande diversité des arts de l’Islam et de l’Inde. L’amour de Marie-Christine David pour les peintures indiennes transparaît dans sa collection : chacune des œuvres nous transmet un message, entre les querelles amoureuses au Penjab (lot 126), l’influence européenne surgissant des peintures de Bundi (lot 113), ou le goût de la Perse dans la Mysore de Tipu Sultan (lot 115). Les carreaux à décor floral sur fond jaune éclatant sont une célébration de l’art moghol du XVIIe siècle (lots 102 et 104). Saisissant la beauté dans les détails les plus fins, Marie-Christine David a réuni une collection très personnelle, privée, dont l’élégance se livre petit à petit à l’observateur. Des œuvres telles que les rares céramiques fatimides du Fayoum (lot 141) ou le plateau de table d’époque nasride ou mudéjar (Lot 165) nous rappellent le goût sûr et la curiosité de cette véritable passionnée d’art.

Diplômée de l’École du Louvre, Marie-Christine David complète sa formation en histoire de l’art oriental au Musée Guimet. En 1970, elle participe aux ventes de la Collection Jean Pozzi lors desquelles fut dispersée une collection majeure de peintures indiennes au Palais Galliera et à l’hôtel Drouot.

En 1973, elle rejoint la Galerie Soustiel au 146 Boulevard Haussmann sous l’égide de Joseph et Irène Soustiel. De 1973 aux années 1990, Marie-Christine David collabore avec Jean Soustiel sur de nombreux ouvrages et catalogues sur les arts d’Orient. Elle participe à la rédaction de l’incontournable opus La céramique islamique, Le guide du connaisseur publié en 1985 sous la direction de Jean Soustiel et présente plusieurs expositions de peintures dont les œuvres ont rejoint aujourd’hui les collections publiques et privées les plus prestigieuses.

Marie-Christine David fonde le cabinet MC David Expertises en 2005 puis ouvre le département d’art d’Orient chez Ader où elle organise des ventes spécialisées très attendues du marché. Experte reconnue pour sa rigueur, sa probité et sa discrétion, Marie-Christine David avait la confiance de nombreux clients français et étrangers qu’elle accompagna dans leur parcours de collectionneurs. Elle mena son cabinet MC David Expertises avec force et passion jusqu'à son décès en mars 2021.

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue